Tags

, , ,

Hello dear followers!

I know I haven’t updated for the longest time. I know, and I’m sorry for that, I just never managed to find some free time to update this blog.

Anyways, here you go, some news!

Once I came back from the very first mapping session, I didn’t really hear anything. I felt strange sensations in weird spots in my brain and those sensations didn’t look like sound at all. I had (and still have) most of the sensations if there is paper which is crinkling, metal/other kitchenware clattering and when water is flowing.

The second mapping session was a few days later, I got 4 programs on my processor again, with increasing sound levels. I had to be on program 4 when I would go to the next fitting. During the first 3 weeks, most of the sensations changed into something I started to perceive as sound.

At the third mapping, 3 weeks after the second mapping, I got the SONNET EAS: they gave me a normal SONNET at first, but I insisted on getting the EAS as I really wanted to get the most out of my residual hearing. It isn’t an enormous difference, but it definitely feels more comfortable having some acoustic input.

Some of my electrodes can’t be stimulated as much as I would like them to be stimulated, as I’m getting unwanted facial twitches if the electrodes are too loud.

I’ve been to 7 aural therapy sessions already, and I’m pleasantly surprised with my cochlear implant. The sound quality of the implant is SO much better than with my hearing aids. All sounds are so much more clear and crispy.

There, this was a quick summary of the progress up to now 🙂
I’m really, really glad that I made the decision to get a cochlear implant. I can’t suddenly “hear” (didn’t expect to either), but it does make a big difference. Sounds are more crisp and clear.

I’ll try to make a more elaborate post later, just letting my dear readers know that I’m still alive, kicking and very glad with my implant!

